Sunday, 11 July 2010

Spain Are World Champions

 By Hakeem Babalola

Spain beat Netherlands by one goal to clinch the 19th FIFA World Cup for the first time since the festival began in 1930 in Uruguay, becoming the first European country to win it outside the European continent. 

Like most World Cup finals, the match was played with caution by both teams although there were several misses thanks to the two goalkeepers who had to save what could have been goals. 

As a result of defensive tactics by both teams, the historical final had to go to extra time during which Barcelona striker, Andres Iniesta dramatically fired Spain to World Cup glory in the 116th minute. 

The match, played in front of about 85,000 and watched by an estimated 700 million more on television around the world largely failed to live up to expectation and was littered by 12 yellow cards and one red.

John Heitinga of Netherlands was sent out by the English referee, Howard Webb in the109th minute for a second bookable offence which obviously affected the Dutch. 

Mr. Webb had to endure a night of yellow cards in which Netherlands collected 23 for the tournament. Only Argentina in 1990 have picked up as many.

It was the first ever final for Spain while Netherlands have now reached three finals without winning the cup. 

The win is the tenth for the European continent, and Spain the eighth nation to win Blatter's coveted cup.

The 2010 World Cup records another history as the first time either Brazil, Italy, Argentina, Germany failed to reach the final.

No comments: